Sweet Colleen

the grass is always bluer

Two words: NICKEL CREEK

Leave a comment

I’m not going to bore you with every little detail of this amazing evening, but I do want to share some thoughts…

thile live

I was so close that I almost got a mandolin to the mouth and foot to the head.

 

I’ve been waiting a long time for this. Well, not waiting per se. I guess I had given up hope. Chris Thile had moved on to other, very interesting projects. Sara Watkins was having some mild success with her solo record. The Watkins Family Hour seemed be keeping both Sara and Sean happy. I just never really thought this was going to happen especially any time soon. But when it did, I couldn’t miss it for the world.

Thile came out and took a step past his microphone and wailed away on this mandolin. My heart was POUNDING! I love live music, but I have to say that a show hasn’t made me feel like that in years. I can only describe it as bluegrass crack. Or maybe just total euphoria. They played even more beautifully than I could have imagined. There was so much energy, laughter, and authenticity.

The only downside was an annoying guy standing to my right who  just. kept. talking. I don’t think he’d ever stop blabbing until he was declared the biggest fan in the crowd. I mean really dude… I don’t CARE how many times you’ve seen them. I don’t CARE if you know every roadie’s name. I don’t CARE if you know more minute details about them than I do. I just want to enjoy the show. You’re very lucky that you can drive all over the eastern seaboard to see them. But I have, you know, a life. Chill out, man and enjoy the freaking show.

Oh yeah… and we met them all! AH!

me and sara

The incomparable Sara Watkins

me and thile

Chris Thile… the man(dolin), the myth, the legend

me and sean

Sean Watkins incredible song writer & flat picking guitar player

 

Author: sweetcolleenn

I love beer, bluegrass music, Disney, and diabetes camp.

Leave a Reply

