Sweet Colleen

the grass is always bluer

The Diabetes Holiday and How I Celebrated with Beer

Leave a comment

The other day I was trying to explain to my husband why I love World Diabetes Day so much. This is the best way I could think of to describe it… It’s like Christmas. Not the gift giving part of Christmas. The hopeful, world peace, group hug part of Christmas. For this one day I feel like we all come together and embrace each other. It’s wonderful.

Something that has really changed over the last few years is that this day is being embraced by all of the “nons” of the world as well as the people living with diabetes. It is truly magical. It feels so good to have your friends and family support you in this small way. It’s awesome to spark so many conversations about life with diabetes.

This year was even more special.

Image

This tattoo serves as a medical alert as well as a tribute to my camp family.

A few weeks ago I casually mentioned to my friend Al (who owns an AWESOME pizza shop/brewery near my house – Al’s of Hampden/Pizza Boy Brewing) that my diabetes camp is struggling for money and could really use an awesome fundraiser. I asked if he would be able to do some small event to raise a little bit of money to get more kids to camp.

Image

Al & Terry telling us about the beer

His response has blown me away. Al and Terry (the brewer at Pizza Boy Brewing) have made a blueberry sour ale aged in Chardonnay barrels. They will be selling the beer starting December 1st and all proceeds of this beer through the month of December will be donated to send kids to diabetes camp!

Yesterday, World Diabetes Day, Al invited me and some other craft beer lovers (many of who are my friends) over to the brewery to try a sample of the beer. While the beer isn’t totally done yet, it was pretty freaking tasty! Not as sour as I expected. Very well rounded and universal. The kind of beer that everyone will love!

Image

The good stuff!

It was so lovely to have everyone dressed in blue! And it was really exciting to have everyone talking about camp and diabetes and how important this fundraiser is. I am beyond thrilled!

It was like one big group hug!

This is a very popular camp song! We keep joking that when we check in this beer on UnTappd or when we talk about it on Twitter that we’ll tag it #MooseJuice!

Author: sweetcolleenn

I love beer, bluegrass music, Disney, and diabetes camp.

Leave a Reply

