Sweet Colleen

the grass is always bluer

Cutting the Carbs

1 Comment

So… I think I’ve come to the conclusion that the only way I’m going to reach my goals is to improve my postprandial blood sugars. I have tried and tried and tried everything to fix my numbers without changing my diet and nothing seems to work. 

Therefore, I am officially going low carb. Not like, Atkins zero carb or even really following the Bernstein Diet, but I’m going to make a conscious effort to eat less simple, white carbs that are extremely high on the glycemic index. This means, no more ramen, potatoes, white bread, white rice, or anything like that. 

I’m kind of easing into it. Mostly because I have a lot of food at home that needs to be eaten before I start this new diet. Yesterday was my first day really doing this. The results were undeniable. I ate a banana for breakfast (I’ve heard some people can’t do bananas but they really don’t make my BG spike much at all as long as I bolus for it well in advance). Then for lunch I made myself a little taco salad with meat, lettuce, salsa, sour cream, and hot sauce. It was really tasty and had very little impact on my blood sugar. Dinner wasn’t as bad as I expected either. We had chicken and rice (which is made with one of those rice-a-roni boxes) and I had a small bump but my BGs came down nicely. 

I’m really thinking I can do this. For real this time. I’m cutting my carbs, and I’m going to lower my A1C. I’ve even told my family so they know what I’m trying to do and they can support me and/or nag me if need be. This is happening!

Author: sweetcolleenn

I love beer, bluegrass music, Disney, and diabetes camp.

One thought on “Cutting the Carbs

  1. I am definitely going 2 try this! Thanks so much 4 the tips bc I need 2 lower my a1c!

Leave a Reply

